Development Tour Report: Zonneveld and Hewson Claim Titles

Rob Hewson and Niels Zonneveld claimed maiden Development Tour titles on a the final day of a history making weekend in Wigan.

Hewson claimed the third event of the year and picked up £2,000 at the Robin Park Leisure Centre. The 22-year-old grabbed his maiden Development Tour title after four years on the circuit.

Hewson began his day with a 4-0 whitewashing of Paul Reid before a 4-1 over Unicorn sponsored Adam Paxton.

Wins over Tom Lonsdale, Fred Box and Dawson Murschell – who fired in a nine-dart finish on the previous day of action in Wigan – put the 22-year-old into the quarter-finals.

Hewson then saw off Jaikob Selby and Tommy Wilson put Hewson into a final Development Tour final. Hewson averaged 87 in the final and that was enough to convincing see off Melvin de Fijter 5-3.


Niels Zonneveld – who was defeated in the opening round of event three – was victorious in the final tournament of the weekend in Wigan.

Zonneveld, a Dutchman based in Uitgeest, claimed his maiden Development Tour title, aged 20.

The Dutchman beat the likes of Owen Maiden and Bradley Jackson on route to the quarter-finals. Wins over Declan Box and William Borland put his into the final where he’d take on Joe Davis – who saw off the previous two event winners (Wessel Nijman and Rob Hewson) earlier in the tournament.

Zonneveld averaged just 80.2 in his final encounter with Joe Davis but it was enough to thrash his opponent 5-2.

The next PDC Unicorn Development Tour weekend will be held on May 26-27 at Halle 39 in Hildesheim as the German venue hosts four tournaments each worth £10,000 in prize money.

PDC Unicorn Development Tour

Sunday April 15, Robin Park Tennis Centre, Wigan
Event Three
Last 16
Rob Hewson 4-2 Dawson Murschell
Jaikob Selby 4-2 Nicholas Ellis
Tommy Wilson 4-2 Nathan Rafferty
Patrick van den Boogaard 4-2 Jimmy Hendriks
Carl Batchelor 4-3 George Gardner
Mike De Decker 4-3 Danny Key
Owen Maiden 4-3 Berry van Peer
Melvin de Fijter 4-1 Harry Ward

Rob Hewson 5-2 Jaikob Selby
Tommy Wilson 5-4 Patrick van den Boogaard
Mike De Decker 5-2 Carl Batchelor
Melvin de Fijter 5-3 Owen Maiden

Rob Hewson 5-3 Tommy Wilson
Melvin de Fijter 5-1 Mike De Decker

Rob Hewson 5-3 Melvin de Fijter

Event Four
Last 16
Ted Evetts 4-1 Rory Jolly
Geert Nentjes 4-0 Justin Smith
Rob Hewson 4-3 James Thompson
Joe Davis 4-2 Wessel Nijman
Niels Zonneveld 4-2 Daniel Thomas
Declan Cox 4-2 Adam Paxton
Jimmy Hendriks 4-0 Jordan Boyce
William Borland 4-3 Rhys Griffin

Geert Nentjes 5-3 Ted Evetts
Joe Davis 5-3 Rob Hewson
Niels Zonneveld 5-0 Declan Cox
William Borland 5-1 Jimmy Hendriks

Joe Davis 5-4 Geert Nentjes
Niels Zonneveld 5-3 William Borland

Niels Zonneveld 5-2 Joe Davis




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s